The History of World Series of Poker

World Series of Poker

In 1970, the World Series of Poker began as an invitation-only event. Benny Binion, the legendary Las Vegas casino owner, invited a few of the world’s greatest poker players and card dealers to his famed Horseshoe Casino to discover who was the best player on the planet.

The champion has been selected by a winner-take-all no-limit hold’em tournament since the second battle in 1971, despite the fact that the first tournament was won by a vote. Johnny Moss, “Amarillo Slim” Preston, and “Amarillo Slim” Preston are among the previous winners.

The WSOP began in 1970 with only six participants, but by the mid-1980s, it had grown to over 2,000. In 2006, the series attracted over 8,000 participants. The victor of the “Main Event” no-limit hold’em tournament taking home more than $12 million. Winner gets the WSOP Champion bracelet as an award.

Will you be the next winner of the World Series of Poker?

About Author Test